Taiwan is best known for its night markets, the Jiufen Old Street, and its lantern festival, which many travelers are hoping to experience for themselves. However, as is usually the case with traveling to a foreign land, this can be easier said than done, especially when the visa is part of the mix. 

Taiwan does have visa exemptions, but there are different rules for different countries. To avoid any confusion and mistakes, it is best to know first if your country is part of the visa exemption program before procedding with any plans. 

Is Your Country Eligible for Taiwan's Visa Exempt Program?
(Photo : Timo Volz on Unsplash)

Countries Eligible for the Visa Exemption Program (Duration of Stay for Up to 90 Days)

The following countries are eligible for Taiwan's visa exemption, and its citizens can stay for up to 90 days:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Marshall Island
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia (effective until March 31, 2025)
  • Norway
  • Palau
  • Paraguay
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tuvalu
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Vatican City State

Related Article: Five Best Dishes To Try In Taiwan

Other Visa Exemptions

The following countries, on the other hand, are eligible for visa exemption. However, their citizens can only stay for up to 30 days:

  • Belize
  • Malaysia
  • Nauru
  • St. Kitts and Nevis, 
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Singapore

Nationals of Nicaragua and Honduras are also eligible for visa exemption with a duration of stay for up to 90 days, except for those who holding diplomatic passports or official/service passports. This also applies to the nationals of the Dominican Republic, but the duration of stay is only for up to 30 days. 

Those from Thailand, Brunei, and the Philippines, except those with diplomatic and officia/service passports, are eligible for visa exemption. However, they can only stay in Taiwan for up to 14 days. This exemption is valid only until July 31, 2024. 

Read Also: China's Visa-Free Travel Offer Aims to Attract European and Malaysian Visitors